Why I Chose Writing on the Web

I am taking this course as part of the writing minor at GCU. Having already taken other courses in the field of writing and communications, one of my goals for this class is to learn more about the differences between writing for the web and writing for other forms of media. Similarly, I am interested to see what qualities set a blog apart from a typical news site and what goes into running something like this on a regular basis.

So, why Buffy the Vampire Slayer? For starters, I’ve been a fan of the show and its various spin-off properties since I was about 13 years old. I often refer to it as “my first obsession” because that’s really what it was for me at that point in my life: I watched the new episodes every week, along with the older, syndicated episodes every day; I read Buffy books; I collected trading cards and figurines and anything else you can imagine; I even dressed as Buffy, herself, for Halloween my freshman year of high school (I no longer have the costume, but it looked something like this).

No doubt about it, I was a complete and utter Buffy-nerd, as my sister liked to say. It was my life and my passion. Most importantly, it was my tenure in Buffy fandom that ultimately led me to pursue a career in writing (as strange as that sounds). What could be more appropriate of a topic than the thing that brought me here in the first place? Besides, vampires are “in” now, anyway. And with Season 9 starting up in comic book form and multiple TV stations running the old episodes in syndication, now seems as good a time as any to revisit the original object of my geeky affections.

Leave a Reply

